Kotus - verkkojulkaisut

Names of countries in seven languages


18 March 2022

The full name of Guyana is the Co-operative Republic of Guyana (formerly also the Republic of Guyana).

16 March 2022

The full name of Gambia is the Republic of the Gambia.

25 May 2021

The official name of Nepal (the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal) is replaced by Nepal.

19 February 2019

The full name of North Macedonia is the Republic of North Macedonia. (formerly The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, FYROM). The short form (Macedonia) has been replaced by North Macedonia.

19 September 2018

The full name of Eswatini is the Kingdom of Eswatini (formerly the Kingdom of Swaziland). The short form (Swaziland) has been replaced by Eswatini.

29 January 2018

The full name of Libya is the State of Libya.

11 November 2016

The short form of the Faroe Islands is Faroes.

31 August 2016

The short form of the Czech Republic is Czechia.

30 June 2016

The full name of Gambia is the Islamic Republic of the Gambia (formerly the Republic of the Gambia).

10 June 2014

The full name of Cabo Verde is the Republic of Cabo Verde (formerly the Republic of Cape Verde). The short form (Cape Verde) has been replaced by Cabo Verde.

10 January 2013

The full name of Somalia is the Federal Republic of Somalia (formerly the Somali Republic).

15 October 2012

The short form Palestine is replaced by Palestinian territory. The full name of Palestinian territory is Occupied Palestinian territory.

1 January 2012

The official name of Hungary (the Republic of Hungary) is replaced by Hungary.

16 September 2011

The short forms (Libya or the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya) and the official forms(the Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya or the Great SocialistPeople's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya) are replaced by Libya.

9 July 2011

South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011.

30 March 2011

The full name of Myanmar is the Republic of the Union of Myanmar (formerly the Union of Myanmar).

19 January 2011

The full name of Fiji is the Republic of Fiji (formerly the Republic of the Fiji Islands).

10 October 2010

The Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist and two new autonomous overseas territories (within the Kingdom of the Netherlands) were formed: Curaçao and Sint Maarten. At the same time, the other islands (Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba) were turned into special municipalities of the Netherlands. → * Curaçao, * Sint Maarten, * Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba

29 March 2010

The full name of Saint Helena is Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.

© Institute for the Languages of Finland